FAQ - a small study guide

Here we offer an overview for students and applicants to the various frequently asked questions about admission, studying and international study opportunities at the Department of Design at the Dortmund University of Applied Sciences.
It is very likely that we cannot answer all questions. If your search on these pages is not successful, please contact the secretariat of the department.

1. Access requirements and artistic-creative suitability exam

The Department of Design would like to offer its students the opportunity to acquire international and foreign language skills as part of their studies. We think that the human and professional experience that students can gain abroad fosters personal development. A stay abroad is not an obligation within the course of study at the design department of the Dortmund University of Applied Sciences, but especially the "creative" professions thrive on international exchange. Therefore, a semester abroad can give you a better understanding of other cultures and ways of working.

We therefore encourage you to take the plunge and gain experience abroad while studying.A semester abroad is possible from the 3rd semester, the 4th or 5th semester is recommended;a year abroad may also be possible.

There are also other options for shorter stays abroad, such as attending summer schools or excursions.

2. Information for international applicants (incoming students)

3. Information for a semester or an internship abroad (outgoing students)

FAQ - ein kleiner Studienguide

Hier bieten wir eine Übersicht für Studierende und Studienbewerber*innen zu den verschieden häufig gestellten Fragen rund um die Zulassung, das Studium und internationale Studienmöglichkeiten am Fachbereich Design der FH Dortmund.
Mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit können wir nicht alle Fragen beantworten. Sollte eure Suche auf diesen Seiten nicht erfolgreich sein wendet euch bitte an das Sekretariat des Fachbereiches.

1. Zugangsvoraussetzungen und Künstlerisch-gestalterische Eignung

Der Fachbereich Design möchte seinen Studierenden die Möglichkeit bieten, im Rahmen des Studiums auch international fachliche und fremdsprachliche Kompetenzen zu erwerben. Wir denken, dass die menschlichen und beruflichen Erfahrungen, die Studierende im Ausland sammeln können, der persönlichen Entwicklung positiven Vorschub leisten. Ein Auslandsaufenthalt ist keine Verpflichtung innerhalb des Studiums am Fachbereich Design der Fachhochschule Dortmund, aber besonders die "kreativen" Berufe leben vom internationalen Austausch. Daher kann ein Semester im Ausland euch ein besseres Verständnis für andere Kulturen und Arbeitsweisen geben.

Wir ermutigen dich daher, den Schritt zu wagen und schon während des Studiums Erfahrungen im Ausland zu sammeln. Ein Auslandssemester ist ab dem 3. Fachsemester möglich, empfohlen wird das 4. oder 5. Fachsemester; ggf. ist auch ein Auslandsjahr möglich.

Darüber hinaus gibt es weitere Möglichkeiten auch zu kürzeren Auslandsaufenthalten, beispielsweise die Teilnahme an Summer Schools oder Exkursionen.

2. Informationen für internationale Studienbewerber*innen (incoming Studierende)

3. Informationen für ein Studiensemester oder ein Praktikum im Ausland (outgoing Studierende)